Feeding the Geese

I took Noah to the reservoir to feed the geese today.  It was his first time doing this and I just knew he would get a kick out of all the geese….little did I know just how many geese would come to eat our bread!  I have to admit I get a little scared of the geese here in Ohio.  They are very large (taller than Noah) and are very large and can get a bit aggressive when it comes to food.  So, I perched Noah and I up on a picnic table so that we would be "safe" from the swarm coming for food.  When we first started feeding them there were about 5 or so geese.  Then a HUGE flock flew over from the other side of the reservoir and landed in the water in front of us.  They quickly made their way up to us to get some bread.  We must have had 50 or so geese begging for bread and I admit I was freaked out!!  Noah wasn’t afraid at all and insisted on getting down from our "safe table" to visit with the geese.  Well, I certainly wasn’t getting down off the table so I let him visit and was praying that they didn’t start attacking him for his bread (he decided to eat the bread himself instead of share with the geese).  I kept telling him that mommy was staying on the table and that he needed to come back, but he ignored me and walked around greeting the geese with wide "hug me" arms.  I looked back at the parking lot to see a woman in her car laughing so hard she was crying!  How embarrasing.  We finished feeding all the bread and I made Noah stay on the table with me until the crowd of geese started to disperse.  I’m a wimp.  I know.  But, Noah had fun!
 
When we first arrived…
 
Then the big swarm arrived!  You can see more coming in from the water in the background.
 
Noah heading out to visit with the geese…
 
At the grocery store they have a horse Noah loves riding…only one cent!!  I love that!
 
He went over to visit with our neighbor and showed off his big tummy that was full from lunch!
 
We are leaving Friday for Noah’s first camping trip.  Today we were airing out the tent and Noah had fun exploring the inside of the tent.
 
Dawn, John, and the kids came over for dinner tonight.  Here are the kids playing with Noah’s toys!  Cousin Alan and Noah doing a little bonding!
 

One Response to “Feeding the Geese”

  1. John Andrea Adam Alex Andrew Avery Says:

    HA, HA, HA, HA! The geese, I know exactly what your talking about. That is too funny. Glad Noah got a kick out of it. BTW, I can\’t get over that rug you found out for trash. I mean the exact same rug, truly amazing! Well, hope you guys have a fantastic time camping! Hugs my friend!

Leave a comment