Ohio State Fair! I won! I won! I won!

We went to the Fair today and it was a super duper day!  Gary took the day off and we had so much fun spending a "hookie" day with daddy!  It was a full day at the fair, we were there for about 8 hours!  Noah did great and even took a little nap in his stroller so that daddy and mommy could walk through the halls and look at things.  Noah was a big boy and rode several midway rides, he even rode one all by himself!  The funny thing about the fair is that once you get home you feel like you need a serious shower and you need to eat a salad to compensate for the TERRIBLE things you ate at the fair!
 
YAY!!  My hamburger cake won Best of Show and 1st place.  I was THRILLED to say the least!

My poppyseed bread won 1st place!!  WOOHOO!

Noah and daddy playing with the blocks in the "Science and Engineering" bldg.  I’m pretty sure this was Noah’s favorite building.  There were Lego’s to play with, a robot that made free ice cream, and lots of building supplies!

Everywhere you looked there was some sort of naughty (but oh so good) fair food!  We tried out the deep fried Buckeyes, I wasn’t a big fan of them but Gary loved them!  Gary had a big ol’ turkey leg for lunch and Noah enjoyed some delicious Ohio sweet corn!

Here’s a little taste of the naughty foods EVERYWHERE at the fair!  I will have to try the deep fried Twinikies next year!  I can only handle one deep fried treat a year!  Marge, you might want to skip this part!!

RIDES!  Noah had such a fun time!  He and daddy went down the BIG slide together!

BIG SLIDE VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yf9AuixJ5EQ

These were made out of pure butter!!!  Isn’t that incredible??!!  I wonder if they bring in lots and lots of bread to butter after the fair is over??

Daddy and Noah went on the sky ride.  Daddy had a very FIRM grip on our little man during the ride!

Noah enjoyed the pig races!  He wasn’t quite as thrilled about meeting Brutus Buckeye with daddy….he gets so scared of dressed up characters!  Notice the very special Junior Deputy badge in the first picture!

We watched "Retriever Dogs in Action" and Noah especially loved the Black Lab puppy!

This was SO gross I had to take a picture.  This was at one of the food stands……an entire pig.  YUCKO!!!! Why would anyone want to eat here?  Ewwwwwwwww…….

Finally….meet the newest member of the Rice family…..this is "Doc" the Beta Fish (Noah named him after a "Cars" character).  Noah loves him already.

 

3 Responses to “Ohio State Fair! I won! I won! I won!”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    Great post! Loved the morbid / gross / cool photo of the pig. LOL

  2. Sharon Says:

    YUMMY!!!! those buckeyes look DELICIOUS! and about that pig… we saw WAY worse in inner mongolia. i am sure he was very tastey. love and hugs… CONGRATS on the cakes! they looked AWESOME! such a talented lady you are… love you!

  3. Nicki Says:

    oh you made my mouth water…..till i got to the pig…..looks like it was an awesome day, but no pics of mommy 😦

Leave a comment